Why I Decided to Quit Booktube

Snapshot_12.png

It has been almost a month since I uploaded my first video on YouTube. I was having fun. I like talking about books. I love meeting bookish people and I love editing videos and photos! It was awesome.
BUT.

It has become all I think about.
What topic should I talk about, what book should I read, or when should I film.
It has taken up too much of my time.
Filming takes about an hour and editing videos takes about 2-4 hours.
It has become an idol.
Unconsciously, I realized how I get obsessed with getting subscribers. From just talking about books, my goal became being famous. To having high subscriber counts.
I realized that instead of looking to Christ for fulfillment, I unconsciously start to be consumed by how many subscribers and views I have.
As I was having my daily quiet time this morning, the Lord revealed something to me in this passage:
15 Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father[a] is not in them. 16 For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. [ I John 2:15-16]
I am not saying that having a YouTube account or having a Facebook is wrong. What God revealed to me is that I am loving YouTube more than Him. YouTube has become the source of my joy, the first thing I do in the morning, and the one occupying my thoughts. I became more concerned with interacting with my subscribers than with having my precious time with God. I became more concerned with what the viewers think than with what God thinks of me. YouTube has robbed me of my precious time and attention with God.
The internet itself is not evil. I believe that the internet, YouTube, Facebook, Instagram and other social media sites are a gift from God and therefore can be used for His glory.
I deleted my YouTube account. It was not easy. I was in a battle. I was staring at the delete button for twenty minutes. Then I finally clicked it.

And let me tell you, I am at peace. God assured me that I was honoring Him.

What about you? Are you honoring God through the internet? Maybe it’s time to reflect my loves. ❤
c0664b_0efdb7fdd0b849cdbae9707adf8e3b05-mv2
Leave a Reply

