My Burning Bush Moments

Bushes in the Sun

 

13 But he said, “Oh, my Lord, please send someone else.” (Exodus 4:13)

I’ve had this exact same response to the Lord so many times.

Moses was busy tending the sheep when he saw something amazing. A bush literally on fire! It was burning but it was not being consumed. God revealed His holiness and glory to Moses that day and not only that, He called him to do something big! In His perfect wisdom, He called Moses to rescue Israel out of slavery.

And guess what’s Moses’ response is?

“Oh, my Lord, please send someone else.”

The Lord provide Him with what to say. He gave Moses tools like the awesome staff that turns into serpent, his hand healing from leprosy instantly and the ability to turn the Nile into blood. God even assured him that because he is not an eloquent speaker,  God will be his mouth. God told him that He will be with him.

And still, Moses refused to obey Him. 

There has been so many times I was just like Moses. God has called me to do these seemingly impossible but amazing things and yet, I still let my fears get the best of me. God has always reminded me that He is in control, that He will not send me alone, that He will equip me, and that He will be with me.

But still, I choose to say “No”.

And I realized that just like Moses, whenever God asks me to do something, immediately I look at myself. My focus is on me: my shortcomings, my fears, my goals, my wants. Me. Me. Me. But really, my focus should be on who God is. And He is bigger and greater than me – than my shortcomings and insecurities.  

Moses, a murderer hiding, a not so special man, was specifically called by God to do something amazing. Who is he to refuse? Who am I to refuse?

I am not saying that the task will be easy. In fact, I am sure it will be difficult. But should we focus on the task or should we focus on the all-powerful, all-knowing God?

In the end, Moses accomplished the task. He managed to rescue the Israelites from Egypt. Moses was able to finish a great task because of a great God working through Him. And just like Moses, if we let a great God work through us, no doubt, we would be able to do great things as well.

What seemed to be a normal day to be tending sheep for Moses turned out to be a life-changing one. He had his burning bush moment. I will have mine. You will have yours. 

What will you do? Will you remove your sandals, hear what God has to say and obey Him? Or will you turn around and go running down  the mountain?

c0664b_0efdb7fdd0b849cdbae9707adf8e3b05-mv2

Leave a Reply

