Top 6 Kdramas of 2016

bdd02a70-dbde-4c20-86f0-97224d74e602

2016 is the year I got into kdramas so much and into kpop too when I started listening to OSTs of kdramas that I like. I enjoyed so many dramas this year (I watched about 25 dramas). While the top 5 books were easy to determine, the top 5 kdramas were very difficult.

But now, here are my top 6 kdramas in 2016:

6. W (Two Worlds) starring Lee Jong Suk and Han Hyo Joo

W (Korean Drama)-p1.jpg

I love fantasy dramas and this one is did the genre well. I love the mystery and the way the plot keeps you guessing. I enjoyed the complicated storyline and I am so happy to have watched it this year. It was sooo goood!!!

Fave OST: Draw a Love by NAVI (Ost part 8) and You and Me by Ahn Yeon Jong (OST part 7)

 

5. Something About 1% starring Ha Seok Jin and Jeon So Min

Something About 1 Percent (2016)-p1.jpg

I love love the romance in this one. I have watched so many complicated and dark dramas this year so this one was a breathe of fresh air. I love the main characters’ interactions with each other. No heavy dramas. Just simple and sweet.

Fave OST: Love Therapy by Na Yoon Kwon

4. Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim starring Han Suk Kyu, Yoo Yeon Sook & Seo Hyun Jin

Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim-p1.jpg

This one is a little different from the dramas in this list because this is still ongoing. I am currently watching this and I am very much enjoying it. Every episode is action and drama-packed. This is the first medical drama I have watched and my favorite thing about this drama are the very flawed main characters. All the main characters are not cookie-cutter perfect. They each have something they need to deal with and I love that. And I must say, that this drama has the best pilot episode ever. Episode one was so good, I wanted to get my hands on episode two the second it ended.

Fave OST: Because It’s You by Lee Hyun (OST part 1)

3. Descendants of the Sun starring Song Joong Ki & Song Hye Kyo, Jin Goo & Kim Ji Won

Descendants of the Sun-p1.jpg

This one took me by surprise. I didn’t expect to love it but I. Loved. It. So. Much. The main characters and the cinematography are my favorite points of this drama. The plot is not that unique but there’s something about it that draws you in. The main couple are charming. Song Joong Ki is very handsome. But I was obsessed with the second couple. I was invested in their story. Jin Goo is bae. Haha! But all in all, this drama deserve the success, the hype and the high ratings. It was so good.

Fave OST: Everytime by Chen x Punch (OST part 2) and This Love by DAVICHI (OST part 3)

 

2. Reply 1988 Starring Hyeri, Ryu Joon Yeol, Park Bo Gum, Ko Gyung Po & Lee Dong Hwi

Reply 1988-p2.jpg

I decided to watch this drama because of Park Bo Gum and I’m happy I did it. This is probably my most favorite drama ever. It is one of the few dramas that truly hit me home. This is not only about romance but about family and friendships too. I love ALL the characters. I love the dorky main female. I love the comedy, the friendship and also the interactions between the families. Every episode is 90 minutes long but I didn’t care. I cried and laughed every episode and I wanted more. This is the most heartwarming drama ever and I will not never forget this. Outstanding. I rate this with all the stars in the universe.

Fave OST: A Little Girl by Oh Hyuk (OST part 3) and Sangmundong by Park Boram (OST part 4)

 

1. Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo starring Lee Joon Gi and IU

Moon Lovers.p1.jpg

It was a tough choice between Reply 1988 and Scarlet Heart but I decided to put this on the top spot because this one broke my heart. It was sad that this drama didn’t get high ratings in Korea because it was so good. The family drama, the political intrigue and the cinematography are so good. I felt like I was watching Game of Thrones (korean version). The plot drew me in as well as the characters. The ending was heartbreaking but at the same time it was satisfying. I super duper enjoyed this drama. I was hungover so much that I didn’t enjoy Kim Bok Joo and Legend of the Blue Sea. This gave me a roller coaster of feels. Love it so much!

Fave OST: Say Yes by Loco and Punch (OST part 2) and All With You by Taeyeon (OST part 5)

*Special Mention: GOBLIN starring Gong Yoo, Lee Dong Wook and Kim Go Eun

Goblin (Korean Drama)-p1.jpg

     I was debating whether to include this in the list or not because if I did, this would be in the top spot. But I decided not to since there are only 6 episodes out. I was so hungover with Scarlet Heart and this one removed me from the slump. It is so good. The plotline is very unique. It is something I’ve never encountered before. The actors are amazing. And the quality of each episode is leagues higher than many kdramas. Fantasy is my favorite genre and this one is doing the genre justice. The cinematography is outsanding too. I felt like I am watching a movie every episode. Definitely a great drama and I am excited for more next year.

________________________

That’s it for my top 6 kdramas in 2016. I enjoyed many dramas this year and hoping for more amazing dramas next year! 🙂

c0664b_0efdb7fdd0b849cdbae9707adf8e3b05-mv2

Leave a Reply

